guillemetgauche


Understanding How Customer’s Identify Themselves Online is the Key to ‘Brand Love’

Margherita Pagani sheds light on how marketers can create a stronger engagement with consumers on social networks in her recent research, ‘Antecedents of brand love in online network-based communities: A social identity perspective’. During a period where social networks are upgrading their marketing tools, this well-timed analysis clarifies how to modernize brand strategies accordingly.

Can you explain the brand love concept and the impact your research has on this subject?

Brand Love is still a fairly recent phrase, it describes when a consumer surpasses having a superficial attachment to a company and aspects of their identity begin to reflect the personality of the brand. People with brand love are loyal, enjoy speaking positively about the company and are more resistant to negative information. This research goes beyond discussing how marketers use brand love to influence consumer behaviour, and instead focuses more on influencing the mind-set of consumers to further develop their identity in relation to the brand.

How was this research carried out?

We sent an online questionnaire to the Facebook fan pages of 20 popular brands including Lego, MTV and Coca-Cola. We chose the fan pages based the number of likes and level of engagement on the fan pages.

The questionnaire looked into the users online social experiences and how they portray themselves within network-based online communities. Facebook was chosen because it’s the dominant social network worldwide with 1.27 billion monthly active users and it’s preferred by customers for online brand connection.

What were your findings from the research?

The results confirmed that the positive influence of social-interactive engagement on brand love is mediated by the psychological impact of how members perceive themselves based on their belonging to the social group of the brand fan page. To strengthen the emotional bond with a brand in online network-based communities, managers should stimulate consumers’ social identity by leveraging the experiences which influence social-interactive engagement.

This study is the first to investigate the effects of social-interactive engagement on social identity to enhance the understanding of brand love’s prior impact in specific online social environments.

Do you have any examples of companies who have incorporated this method into their online strategy?

The ‘Lego community’ is a great example of a social interactive platform that encourages followers to engage with the brand through creating and sharing their Lego based ideas to earn ‘clutch power’ – points that equate to collectable badges. Such activities allow users to put their own personalised spin on the ideas, which they’re then encouraged to share with others. Through this process they’re embracing the Lego brand values from both a mental and behavioural perspective to integrate the brand values into their online personality.

How can businesses develop a strategy that successfully integrates the research findings?

Bear in mind that this is not specific to social media sites such as Facebook, but can be applied to any online social interactive platform, as is the case with the Lego community. The strategy needs to observe details such as how active the brand followers are on social network platforms, their preferred ways of interacting, and the image they portray of themselves online. These considerations can then lead to personalized experiences that will positively impose the companies brand values on the development of the individual’s online identity.

Margherita Pagani, emlyon business school

As an Associate Professor in digital marketing and telecommunications, my research work currently focuses on digital marketing, consumer behaviour and new technologies. I am also interested in social media, mobile marketing and the dynamics models within systems that enable us to evaluate the leverage effect of various components of the telecommunications value networks. The impact of consumers’ personal lives on their behaviour within the social media is also something I find very interesting.

More information on Margherita Pagani:
• Her CV online
• Her ResearchGate Page


Further reading…

  • Vernuccio, M., Pagani, M., Barbarossa, C. & Pastore A. (2015). Antecedents of brand love in online network-based communities: A social identity perspective. Journal of Product and Brand Management, 24(7): 706-719.
    View article abstract

guillemetgauche


Comprendre la manière dont les consommateurs s’identifient en ligne est crucial pour le « Brand Love » (l’attachement à une marque)

Dans sa récente étude « Antecedents of brand love in online network-based communities: A social identity perspective », Margherita Pagani expose la manière dont les annonceurs publicitaires peuvent créer un engagement plus fort avec les consommateurs sur les réseaux sociaux. À une époque où les réseaux sociaux perfectionnent leurs outils marketing, cette analyse tombe à point nommé pour clarifier comment moderniser les stratégies de marque en conséquence.

Pouvez-vous expliquer le concept de « brand love » et l’impact de votre recherche sur ce sujet ?

« Brand Love » est une expression encore relativement récente, utilisée lorsqu’un consommateur ressent plus qu’un attachement superficiel envers une société, au point que des aspects de son identité commencent à refléter la personnalité de la marque. Les personnes démontrant une véritable affection pour une marque (« Brand Love ») sont fidèles, elles aiment parler de la société en termes positifs et sont plus réfractaires aux informations négatives. Cette étude ne se contente pas d’aborder la manière dont les publicitaires se servent du « brand love » pour influer sur le comportement des consommateurs, mais se concentre plutôt sur le fait d’influencer l’état d’esprit des consommateurs pour développer plus encore leur identité en relation avec la marque.

Comment cette recherche a-t-elle été effectuée ?

Nous avons envoyé un questionnaire en ligne aux pages de fans de Facebook de 20 grandes marques, dont Lego, MTV et Coca-Cola. Nous avons choisi les pages de fans en fonction du nombre de « J’aime » et du niveau d’engagement sur les pages de fans.

Le questionnaire s’attachait aux expériences sociales en ligne des utilisateurs et à la manière dont ces derniers se représentaient au sein de communautés en ligne basées sur les réseaux sociaux. Nous avons choisi Facebook car il s’agit du réseau social dominant à l’échelle planétaire, avec 1,27 milliards d’utilisateurs actifs chaque mois, et celui que les consommateurs préfèrent en matière de connexion avec la marque en ligne.

Quelles ont été les conclusions de votre recherche ?

Les résultats ont confirmé que l’influence positive de l’engagement social interactif sur l’affection des consommateurs pour une marque dépend de l’impact psychologique qu’exerce la façon dont les membres se perçoivent selon leur appartenance au groupe social de la page de fans de la marque. Pour renforcer le lien émotionnel avec une marque auprès des communautés basées sur les réseaux sociaux, les managers devraient stimuler l’identité sociale des consommateurs en mettant à profit les expériences qui influent sur l’engagement social interactif.

Cette étude est la première à s’intéresser aux effets de l’engagement social interactif sur l’identité sociale pour mieux comprendre l’impact préalable du « brand love » dans des environnements sociaux en ligne spécifiques.

Avez-vous des exemples de sociétés ayant incorporé cette méthode à leur stratégie en ligne ?

La communauté Lego offre un superbe exemple de plateforme sociale interactive qui encourage ses membres à nouer des liens avec la marque en créant et en partageant leurs idées Lego afin de gagner du « clutch power », à savoir des points équivalents à des badges à collectionner. Ce genre d’activités permet aux utilisateurs d’ajouter leur propre touche personnalisée aux idées, qu’ils sont ensuite encouragés à partager avec les autres. Grâce à ce processus, ils adhèrent aux valeurs de la marque Lego d’un point de vue à la fois mental et comportemental, pour intégrer les valeurs de la marque à leur personnalité en ligne.

Comment les entreprises peuvent-elles élaborer une stratégie réussissant à intégrer les résultats de cette recherche ?

Il convient de garder à l’esprit que ceci n’est pas spécifique aux sites de médias sociaux tels que Facebook, mais peut s’appliquer à n’importe quelle plateforme sociale interactive en ligne, comme c’est le cas pour la communauté Lego. La stratégie doit s’attacher aux détails tels que le niveau d’activité des partisans de la marque sur les plateformes de réseaux sociaux, leurs modes d’interaction préférés, et l’image qu’ils donnent d’eux-mêmes en ligne. Ces considérations peuvent alors aboutir à des expériences personnalisées qui imposeront de manière positive les valeurs de marque des sociétés sur le développement de l’identité en ligne des individus.

Margherita Pagani, emlyon business school

Professeur associée en marketing numérique et télécommunications, mes recherches portent actuellement sur le marketing numérique, le comportement des consommateurs et les nouvelles technologies. Je m’intéresse en outre aux médias sociaux, au marketing mobile et aux modèles de dynamique des systèmes permettant d’évaluer l’effet de levier des différents composants des réseaux de valeur informatique. L’impact de la vie privée sur le comportement des consommateurs au sein des réseaux sociaux retient également mon attention.

Plus d’informations sur Margherita Pagani :
• 
Son CV en ligne
• Son profil ResearchGate


Pour approfondir…

  • Vernuccio, M., Pagani, M., Barbarossa, C. & Pastore A. (2015). Antecedents of brand love in online network-based communities: A social identity perspective. Journal of Product and Brand Management, 24(7): 706-719.
    Voir le résumé de l’article