When explaining that her research focuses on ethics in banking and finance, Mar Perezts, Associate Professor of Management, Law and Human Resources at EMLYON is often met with such cynical remarks as “Ethics in banking? Ha! Haven’t you read the newspapers lately?” But despite the cynicism, ethics in financial services – or its absence – remains a topic of constant fascination.

Having studied attitudes towards money in various cultures and throughout history, Mar Perezts’ research paper, ‘Dirty Hands and Dirty Money: Towards Framework for Fighting Pollution in Finance’ looks at why such negative attitudes towards financial services have evolved and explains why the increasingly critical approach aspiring professionals are taking towards the way the finance sector works should be encouraged if the ‘dirty money’ perception is to change.

Money as a neutral commodity

Down the centuries, and across a wide raft of cultures money, – together with those who deal in it has become tainted, perceived as somehow soiled and sordid. As long ago as the 4th century BC the Greek philosopher Aristotle was condemning usury and the whole concept of lending money for interest has long been anathema to many of the world’s great religions. However, as the Roman emperor, Vespasian, neatly put it, ‘Pecunia non olet’ – money has no smell. Or has it? Is money a truly neutral commodity equally as capable of prompting immoral actions, such as money laundering and gambling, and of positively shaping societies in forms such as infrastructure and education. Considering the ambiguity of this subject combined with its power over society; is it any wonder that we are quick to judge the finance sector as a double sided sword of purity and pollution?

Cleaning up the act

Governments around the globe have been attempting to ‘clean up the act’ of the financial services sectors for many years – the US, for example, set up its dedicated anti-counterfeiting services back in 1865. Yet despite measures such as the Basel declaration in 1988 and the creation of the financial Action Task Force in 1989 by the G7 we still found ourselves financial armageddon in 2007 and the uncovering of recklessness and corruption on a superhuman scale. The response to this has been even more regulation and moves towards the creation of an effective global prohibition regime. Whistle-blowing has been encouraged, regulators and compliance specialists have become more and more professional and financial practitioners have been tasked, not just with responsibility for their own actions, but also for those of their customers.

The spectre of normophrenia

The problem of course about a constant increase in the number of rules, regulations, codes and enforcement procedures is that eventually it leads to a level of bureaucracy which crushes the activity it is supposed to be protecting, or what Professor Perezts calls ‘normophrenia’. We end up moving from a world where the rule of law is superceded by the law of rules. Unless we seriously believe that we can move back to a simpler time when financial services was conducted with handshakes in comfortable club rooms, then no regulatory system can be truly effective. In a globalised system where markets happen in thousands of transactions per second then it is only people who can make a real difference.

The people factor

If this is the case then it falls to universities and business schools to ensure that the right people with the right attitudes are in place to make this difference. This is not a question of instilling attitudes that are in some way more altruistic or beneficent or promoting something like the notorious Harvard pledge that launched in the dark days of the financial crisis. Instead it is about encouraging students who will go on to become financial practitioners to question practices, procedures and accepted thought within the sector and to act upon their conclusions. By tackling potential problems at the tipping point where they occur rather than through an imposed set of bureaucratic rules we could see the development of a financial services sector which is truly robust and sustainable and where ethics become embedded because they are seen as good for the sector and its commercial longevity.

Associate Professor, my research involves crossing management problems with organisational issues, such as business ethics, via a philosophical and sociological approach. My work has been published in the Journal of Business Ethics, Organization and the European Management Journal, for which I am a proof reviewer. I am also a member of the OCE Research Centre.

More information on Mar Perezts:
Her CV online
Her Viadeo page
Her ResearchGate page


Further reading…

  • Perezts, M. (2015). Dirty Hands and Dirty Money: Insights on the construction and the fighting of financial pollution through compliance practices. Finance & the Common Good / Bien Commun.

This article was finalist of the Robin Cosgrove Prize – Ethics in finance, edition 2014-2015

Lorsqu’elle explique que ses recherches sont axées sur l’éthique dans les secteurs bancaire et financier, Mar Pérezts, se heurte souvent à des remarques empreintes de sarcasme du genre : « L’éthique dans le secteur bancaire ? Vous ne lisez pas les journaux ? » Et pourtant, malgré le cynisme affiché, l’éthique dans les services financiers – ou son absence – reste un sujet qui fascine.

Mar Pérezts a étudié les attitudes vis-à-vis de l’argent dans différentes cultures et à travers l’histoire. Elle se penche sur les raisons qui ont donné naissance à une vision si négative des services financiers. Elle explique pourquoi l’approche, de plus en plus critique adoptée par les jeunes professionnels vis-à-vis de leur fonctionnement, devrait être encouragée si l’on souhaite que cette perception d’un « argent sale » évolue enfin.

L’argent, un produit neutre ?

Au fil des siècles et à travers de nombreuses cultures, l’argent, ainsi que ceux qui en font le commerce, est devenu entaché, perçu comme quelque chose de souillé et sordide. Déjà, au 4ème  siècle avant Jésus-Christ, le philosophe grec Aristote condamnait l’usure. Le concept même de prêter de l’argent contre des intérêts a longtemps été considéré avec réprobation par la plupart des grandes religions du monde. Et pourtant, comme le disait l’empereur romain Vespasien, « Pecunia non olet » : l’argent n’a pas d’odeur. Or, est-ce vraiment le cas ? L’argent est-il un produit réellement neutre ? Est-il à même de susciter aussi bien des actes immoraux, tels que le blanchiment et les jeux d’argent, que de façonner positivement les sociétés, comme par exemple via des infrastructures ou l’éducation ? Compte tenu de cette ambiguïté, peut-on s’étonner de ce que nous soyons prompts à juger le secteur financier comme une arme à double tranchant, combinant pureté et pollution ?

Faire le ménage

Les gouvernements du monde entier tentent, depuis de nombreuses années, de « remettre de l’ordre » dans le secteur des services financiers. Le gouvernement américain, par exemple, a instauré ses services dédiés à la lutte contre la contrefaçon dès 1865. Pourtant, en dépit de mesures telles que la déclaration de Bâle en 1988 ou la création du Groupe d’action financière en 1989 par le G7, nous avons connu une apocalypse financière en 2007, révélant un degré inouï d’irresponsabilité et de corruption. La réaction a été d’adopter un nombre encore accru de réglementations et de mesures, visant à la création d’un régime d’interdiction efficace au niveau mondial. La dénonciation a été encouragée. Les missions de régulateurs et de spécialistes de la conformité se sont professionnalisées. Les praticiens financiers ont dû endosser la responsabilité, non seulement de leurs propres actes, mais aussi de ceux de leurs clients.

Le spectre de la « normophrénie »

Le problème d’une augmentation constante du nombre de règles, de réglementations, de codes et de procédures d’exécution, est que cela finit par engendrer un niveau de bureaucratie tel qu’il étouffe l’activité qu’il est censé protéger. C’est ce que Mar Pérezts appelle la « normophrénie ». Nous nous retrouvons alors dans un monde où la règle de la loi est remplacée par la loi des règles. À moins de revenir à des temps plus simples, où les affaires financières étaient conclues d’une poignée de main dans un confortable club-house, aucun système de réglementation ne peut être véritablement efficace. Dans un système mondialisé où les marchés connaissent des milliers de transactions par seconde, seuls les individus peuvent faire la différence.

Le facteur humain

Si tel est le cas, il appartient aux universités et aux écoles de management de veiller à ce que les bonnes personnes, avec les bonnes attitudes, soient en position de faire cette différence. La question n’est pas d’inculquer des attitudes qui seraient plus altruistes ou bienfaisantes. Il ne s’agit pas non plus de promouvoir quoi que ce soit de semblable au fameux serment d’Harvard, instauré à l’époque sombre de la crise financière. Il s’agit plutôt d’encourager les étudiants décidés à devenir des professionnels de la finance à remettre en question les pratiques, les procédures et les dogmes établis dans ce secteur pour agir selon leurs conclusions. En abordant les problèmes potentiels directement au point charnière où ils se produisent, plutôt que par le biais d’un ensemble de règles bureaucratiques imposées, nous pourrions assister au développement d’un secteur de services financiers véritablement robuste et durable. Un domaine financier au sein duquel l’éthique viendrait s’enraciner car elle serait considérée comme bénéfique pour le secteur et sa longévité commerciale.

Mar Perezts, emlyon business school

Professeur associé, je poursuis une recherche transversale en croisant les problématiques gestionnaires et organisationnelles telles que l’éthique des affaires avec des approches puisées dans la philosophie et la sociologie. Mes travaux ont été publiés dans le Journal of Business Ethics, Organization et le European Management Journal, pour lesquels je suis relectrice. Je suis également membre du Centre de Recherche OCE (Organisations, Carrières et nouvelles Elites).

Plus d’informations sur Mar Perezts :
Son CV en ligne
Son profil Viadeo
Son profil ResearchGate


Pour approfondir…

  • Perezts, M. (2015). Dirty Hands and Dirty Money: Insights on the construction and the fighting of financial pollution through compliance practices. Finance & the Common Good / Bien Commun.

Cet article est finaliste du prix Robin Cosgrove – Ethique en finance, édition 2014-2015