Ask most UK business heads – or indeed anyone who reads the newspaper – whether women managers are paid equally to men, and you‘ll be told that the country’s much-discussed gender pay gap reaches right up to the top. But new research from Philipp Geiler  of EMLYON and Prof. Luc Renneboog has revealed that female CEOs in the UK actually face little fiscal discrimination, with no discernible differences in base salary between genders in the very top positions.

Despite this, ‘Are female top managers really paid less?’ a paper that examines the nature of top tier pay across all UK listed companies, has exposed that there is very real gender discrimination in the salaries of other female executive directors (e.g. CFO, COO, Deputy CEO, etc). In fact, female top managers below CEO level earn about 23% less than their male counterparts, which amounts to roughly £1.3 million over a five year period (the average tenure as an executive at board level).

However, there are two scenarios which make it much more likely for a company to exhibit a smaller pay gap: if the firm already has female non-executive directors on the board or in typically “male” industries such as tech, science and IT.

 The nature of bonuses

Interestingly, this gender divide is also reflected in bonuses. Where male CEOs’ pay is strongly performance dependent, top women leaders’ remuneration is focused more around both accounting and market-based performance. Similarly, her bonus is not solely based on company performance as would be in the case of a male leader, but also on the perception of her charisma and leadership ability (Kulich et al. 2007). Yet for female executive directors who are not CEO, the story is slightly different. Geiler and Renneboog’s research demonstrates that these positions, though key within a company, receive a 15% lower salary and 20% lower bonus on average, which translates respectively into about £20k and £25k less pay than if a man were filling the roles.

 Business and parenthood interplay

One prominent topic in the pay equality debate has been that of parenthood – can a business invest so wholly in an individual where there is a risk of losing them for significant amounts of time? Prolonged absence of senior figures can be highly damaging to a company’s competitive performance.

American professors Michelle Budig and Paula England found that the impact of parenthood depends on the number of children a person in leadership has, and that each additional child is associated with a 2–7% reduction in women’s wages. It is no surprise, then, that highly skilled women often postpone motherhood to reduce its impact on her career. Yet even for those women who do not start a family, their pay can be as much as 9% lower than males’ even before the birth of their first child (Lundberg and Rose, 2000).

Interestingly, there are also studies that examine why marriage can have a positive effect on a male’s labour market outcome. This is generally because of an increased domestic emotional support network and heightened job-related motivation, as well as the changed perception of the husband as more stable and responsible (Cohen and Haberfeld, 1991). Whether or not this is entirely plausible is irrelevant in this case as what is more telling of the perception of gender in leadership is that there are no studies examining the role of a male spouse on career success of female managers.

 CEO above monetary discrimination

Nonetheless, the CEO operates above monetary discrimination – and this rings true of both genders, with marginal difference in salaries being recorded. Yet in all listed UK companies, only 2% of CEOs and 4% of executive directors are female. Perhaps, then, it is the road to female leadership itself that is paved with inequality, and that gender parity in remuneration has (nearly) been reached – but only for those who have climbed to the very top.

I am Assistant Professor in Corporate Finance. Prior to joining emlyon business school, I was a researcher at Tilburg University. I was also a visiting scholar at Oxford University and worked for an international consulting firm. I have published in the Journal of Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance: An International Review, the Journal of International Financial Markets, Institutions & Money, and others. My research interests are corporate finance, corporate governance, and executive compensation.

More information on Philipp Geiler:
• His CV online
His ResearchGate page


Further reading…

  • Geiler, Philipp, Renneboog, Luc, 2015. Are Female Top Managers Really Paid Less? Journal of Corporate Finance, 35, 345-369.
    View abstract
  • Budig, Michelle J., England, Paula, 2001. The wage penalty for motherhood. American Sociological Review 66 (2), 204–225.
    View abstract
  • Cohen, Yinon, Haberfeld, Yitchak, 1991. Why do married men earn more than unmarried men? Social Science Research 20, 29–44.
    View abstract
  • Lundberg, Shelly, Rose, Elaina, 2000. Parenthood and the earnings of married men and women. Labour Economics 7, 689–710.
    View abstract

See also the International Women’s Day website

Au Royaume-Uni, la différence de rémunération entre les hommes et les femmes est un sujet très débattu. Demandez à n’importe quel dirigeant d’entreprise britannique – ou d’ailleurs, à n’importe quel lecteur de journaux – si le salaire des femmes cadres est égal à celui des hommes, et l’on vous répondra que l’écart de salaires touche même les postes les plus élevés. Néanmoins, de nouvelles recherches menées par Philipp Geiler (EMLyon Business School) et Luc Renneboog (Université de Tilbourg) ont révélé que les femmes PDG au Royaume-Uni connaissent peu de discrimination salariale, sans différence flagrante dans le salaire de base entre hommes et femmes aux postes les plus haut placés.

Et pourtant, l’article intitulé « Are female top managers really paid less? » (Les femmes cadres supérieurs sont-elles réellement moins bien payées ?) s’est penché sur la nature des rémunérations des cadres supérieurs sur l’ensemble des sociétés britanniques cotées. Sa conclusion : les autres femmes dirigeantes (DAF, DOP, PDG adjointes…) font face à une discrimination salariale bien réelle. De fait, les femmes occupant un poste de cadre supérieur en dessous du niveau de PDG gagnent environ 23 % de moins que leurs homologues masculins, soit près de 1,3 million de livres Sterling sur une période de cinq ans (l’ancienneté moyenne pour un dirigeant au niveau du conseil d’administration).

Toutefois, il existe deux scénarios dans lesquels une société est bien plus susceptible d’afficher un écart de salaire moins important : lorsque des femmes figurent déjà parmi les membres non exécutifs du conseil d’administration de la société en question, ou bien dans les industries typiquement « masculines » telles que les technologies, les sciences ou l’informatique.

La nature des primes

Fait intéressant, ce fossé entre les hommes et les femmes se retrouve également au niveau des primes. Bien que le salaire des PDG hommes soit fortement tributaire des performances, la rémunération des femmes dirigeantes est, elle, plus axée sur les performances comptables et de marché. De même, leur prime est non seulement liée à la performance de l’entreprise comme c’est le cas pour les hommes, mais également à la perception de leur charisme et de leurs compétences managériales (Kulich et al., 2007). Mais pour les directrices exécutives qui ne sont pas PDG, ce n’est pas tout-à-fait la même histoire. Dans leur étude, Geiler et Renneboog démontrent qu’à ces postes, pourtant cruciaux au sein d’une société, les femmes touchent en moyenne un salaire 15 % inférieur et une prime 20 % moins importante, soit environ 20 000 £ à 25 000 £ de moins qu’un homme occupant les mêmes postes.

 L’interaction entre parentalité et entreprise

La parentalité est l’un des sujets au cœur du débat sur l’égalité des salaires : une entreprise peut-elle investir autant dans une personne s’il existe un risque de la perdre pour des périodes de temps considérables ? L’absence prolongée de cadres supérieurs peut s’avérer très préjudiciable et affecter la compétitivité d’une société.

Michelle Budig et Paula England, toutes deux professeurs aux États-Unis, ont observé que l’impact de la parentalité dépendait du nombre d’enfants d’un cadre dirigeant, et que chaque enfant supplémentaire représentait une réduction de 2 à 7 % du salaire des femmes. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que les femmes hautement qualifiées remettent souvent à plus tard la maternité afin d’en réduire l’impact sur leur carrière. Cependant, même les femmes qui ne fondent pas de famille peuvent avoir un salaire jusqu’à 9 % inférieur à celui des hommes, et ce avant même la naissance de leur premier enfant (Lundberg et Rose, 2000).

Il est intéressant de noter que certaines études examinent également en quoi le mariage peut avoir un effet positif sur l’attrait des hommes sur le marché du travail. Un fait souvent attribué à un réseau de soutien émotionnel familial accru et à une plus grande motivation professionnelle, ainsi qu’au changement d’image du mari, perçu comme plus stable et responsable (Cohen et Haberfeld, 1991). Que cette hypothèse soit totalement plausible ou non n’a aucune importance dans le cas présent ; en effet, ce qui est vraiment révélateur de la perception du genre dans l’encadrement supérieur, c’est qu’il ne semble pas y avoir d’études consacrées au rôle d’un conjoint (homme) sur la réussite professionnelle des femmes cadres.

Les PDG au-dessus de la discrimination financière

 Quoi qu’il en soit, le PDG se situe au-dessus de la discrimination financière, y compris en matière de parentalité – et cela s’applique aux hommes comme aux femmes, les différences de salaires observées étant marginales. Toutefois, sur l’ensemble des sociétés britanniques cotées, seuls 2 % des PDG et 4 % des directeurs exécutifs étaient des femmes. C’est peut-être donc plutôt la route menant au leadership féminin qui est pavée d’inégalité, et il se peut que la parité des salaires entre hommes et femmes soit (presque) atteinte – mais seulement pour ceux qui se sont hissés jusqu’au sommet.

Philipp Geiler, emlyon business school

Je suis Professeur assistant en Finance d’entreprise. Avant de rejoindre emlyon business school, j’étais chercheur à l’Université de Tilburg. J’ai également été chercheur invité à l’Université d’Oxford et j’ai travaillé pour une société de conseil internationale. J’ai publié des articles dans des revues spécialisées, notamment le Journal of Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance: An International Review et le Journal of International Financial Markets, Institutions & Money, entre autres. Mes axes de recherche concernent principalement la finance d’entreprise, la gouvernance d’entreprise et la rémunération des cadres supérieurs.

Plus d’informations sur Philipp Geiler :
Son CV en ligne
Son profil ResearchGate


Pour approfondir…

  • Geiler, Philipp, Renneboog, Luc, 2015. Are Female Top Managers Really Paid Less? Journal of Corporate Finance, 35, 345-369.
    Voir le résumé en ligne
  • Budig, Michelle J., England, Paula, 2001. The wage penalty for motherhood. American Sociological Review 66 (2), 204–225.
    Voir le résumé en ligne
  • Cohen, Yinon, Haberfeld, Yitchak, 1991. Why do married men earn more than unmarried men? Social Science Research 20, 29–44.
    Voir le résumé en ligne
  • Lundberg, Shelly, Rose, Elaina, 2000. Parenthood and the earnings of married men and women. Labour Economics 7, 689–710.
    Voir le résumé en ligne

Voir également le site de la journée internationale des femmes