­
  • David Courpasson, Looking away

Looking away: Civilised indifference in the modern workplace

As a sociologist, David Courpasson studies new forms of organizations in the workplace and their impact on day-to-day workers’ lives. Here, he points out the paradox between everyone’s perception of a modern workplace, source of engagement and strong involvement, and employees’ ordinary mutual insensitivity. He encourages employers to face this challenge and stimulate genuine teamwork.

Ordinary indifference

“We were all waiting for the names: you know, the names of those who would lose their job. The HR department was in charge of making the list and for several weeks the atmosphere was just unbearable. When I knew I wasn’t on the list, I remember that I felt more than a sense of relief; it was a real happiness and, at the same time, absolute indifference to the fate of the four colleagues in our branch who had to leave. I was simply happy to be alive, in a sense. When I learned that one of them had committed suicide two weeks later, I was sad – but the sadness could not exceed the threshold of my personal satisfaction to keep on working.”

Rather chilling isn’t it? Yet this passage, taken from an interview I conducted with a banker who had gone through a round of major cost-cutting at his employer, does not contain the words of a monster or a psychopath, but of the type of ordinary, educated and apparently socialised individual you and I live with five plus days a week.

Storm of comment

Yet words like this militate against the image so many of us share of modern society and of the modern workplace where engagement, involvement and a sense of belonging are espoused more than ever. The internet and the social and work media it has provided a platform for mean that we are never without a voice. Every human tragedy, every political misstep, every unguarded public word prompts a storm of comment ranging from the helpful or consoling through to outright vilification and the downright unpleasant. Our legion of friends are never more than a click away, as are our colleague, our clients and, our work superiors.

Funky workspaces ?

Organisations of every size now invest serious time, effort and resources in creating environments designed to fully embrace their actual and potential workforces. But do the ‘funky’ workspaces that are the signature of so many desirable employers today actually deliver on their promises? In short, has anything really changed since the days of the old-fashioned factory? The ‘funky factory might look more outwardly smiling, connected and colourful than its predecessors, but it is still designed to constrain bodies to be at work all the time – by mixing up leisure and work, by tying people physically to the workplace.

guillemetgauche

In France there has been a 25% increase in the number of employees taking drugs to cope with work in the last ten years.

Despite all the promises that technology would lead us into some kind of work-life balance, work still seems to be taking its toll. In France there has been a 25% increase in the number of employees taking drugs to cope with work in the last ten years. In Japan, the incidence of karoshi or ‘death by overwork’ is rising steadily and in China the local equivalent, guolaosi, is estimated to have killed more than half a million people.

In society as a whole, and in the workplace, it seems there has developed a disconnection between perception and reality. So what can be done ?

Reinvestigate the personal connections

The challenges faced by society are, I’m afraid, outside my brief. However, I would argue that employers need to face up to what is really going on in their organisations if they are to create workforces that are genuinely engaged rather than just paying lip service. We need to reinvestigate what I would call the ‘carnal’ or personal connections that exist in the confined spaces where we spend so much of our lives. We need to re-establish connections where people feel physically what the other is feeling and eliminate the mutual indifference that characterises life at work and elsewhere.

True ethos of quality

And this is not some unfounded aspiration, it is already happening in certain environments. Take, for example, a workshop in a chemical factory where a small team works through the night, controlling the always uncertain functioning of machinery and the dangerous products within. Trusting colleagues for their abilities to fix problems when the flow is blocked. These are the sort of environments where true and robust connections are built up because bodies, health and lives are threatened; and because a true ethos of quality does exist, whereby people wish the best for their colleagues and work hard to ensure that their work is accomplished according to the highest standards. The challenge for every employer is how to duplicate this genuine, as opposed to ‘surface’, teamwork across all aspects of the workplace. It is, of course, a huge challenge – but not one that any serious organisation can afford to ignore.

David Courpasson, emlyon business school

As Professor of sociology, I study new forms of resistance at work as well as the dynamics and processes of power and domination in organisations. To my mind, social science research requires genuine and enthusiastic commitment to understanding the lives of working people. How do new organisations influence those lives? What mechanisms can people use to cope with the constraints and contradictions imposed on them by new labour laws? Is it possible to observe the creation of forms based on productive collective solidarity in today’s organisations? What vision of work do they serve? Does industrial action still have a future in economically liberal organisations? These are just some of the questions I attempt to explore in my work.

More information on David Courpasson:
His CV online
• His ResearchGate page


Further reading…

  • Courpasson, D. 2016. Looking Away? Civilized Indifference and the Carnal Relationships of the Contemporary Workplace. Journal of Management Studies, Forthcoming. DOI: 10.1111/joms.12175.
    View article abstract

By the same author:

I am my body

Feb 8th, 2017|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|

Why the development of a ‘physical self’ may not be the best antidote to change...

Looking away: Civilised indifference in the modern workplace

May 19th, 2016|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|

As a sociologist, David Courpasson studies new forms of organizations in the workplace and their impact on day-to-day workers’ lives. Here, he points out the paradox between everyone’s perception of a modern workplace, source of engagement and strong involvement, and employees' ordinary mutual insensitivity.[...]

Impactful Resistance

Apr 7th, 2016|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|

Why resistance persists in the workplace... and why it might actually be good for companies!

May 19th, 2016|David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|0 Comments

Leave A Comment

­

« Détourner le regard » ou l’indifférence civile sur le lieu de travail

David Courpasson étudie les nouvelles formes d’organisations sur le lieu de travail et leur impact sur la vie quotidienne des travailleurs. Dans cet article, il souligne la tension entre la perception qu’a chacun d’un lieu de travail moderne, source apparente d’engagement et de forte implication, et l’indifférence ordinaire croissante des individus pour le sort des autres. Il incite à sérieusement réfléchir à cette tension afin de restaurer des relations sociales plus saines et solidaires au travail.

L’indifférence ordinaire

« Nous attendions tous les noms. Vous savez, les noms de ceux qui allaient perdre leur emploi. Le service des RH était chargé d’établir la liste et pendant plusieurs semaines, l’ambiance était tout simplement insupportable. Quand j’ai su que je ne figurais pas sur la liste, je me souviens avoir éprouvé plus qu’un sentiment de soulagement, un véritable bonheur. Et en même temps, une indifférence absolue envers le sort des quatre collègues de notre agence qui devaient partir. J’étais simplement heureux d’être vivant, d’une certaine manière. Quand j’ai appris que l’un d’entre eux s’était suicidé deux semaines plus tard, cela m’a attristé. Mais la tristesse n’arrivait pas à surpasser ma satisfaction personnelle de pouvoir continuer à travailler. »

Plutôt effrayant, non ? Pourtant, ce passage est extrait d’un entretien avec un employé de banque passé au travers d’une période d’importantes coupes budgétaires au sein de son établissement. Il ne s’agit pas des propos d’un monstre ou d’un psychopathe, mais de ceux d’un individu ordinaire, éduqué et en apparence socialisé, du genre que vous et moi côtoyons cinq jours ou plus par semaine.

Une tempête de commentaires

Des tels propos viennent contredire l’image que la plupart d’entre nous partageons du lieu de travail moderne. Un lieu où plus que jamais, sont prônées les notions d’engagement, d’implication et où le sentiment d’appartenance est constamment encouragé. Et avec internet en plateforme médiatique sociale et professionnelle, nous ne sommes jamais sans voix. Chaque tragédie humaine, chaque faux pas politique, chaque déclaration publique inconsidérée, déclenche une tempête de commentaires, allant de l’utile ou du réconfortant à la pure diffamation et au franchement désagréable. Notre multitude d’amis est toujours à portée de clic, tout comme nos collègues, nos clients et nos supérieurs hiérarchiques.

Des lieux de travail branchés ?

Les entreprises quelle que soit leur taille consacrent de plus en plus de temps, d’efforts et de ressources à la création d’environnements conçus pour intégrer pleinement leur main-d’œuvre et devenir des espaces attirants, où il ferait bon vivre. Mais ces nouveaux lieux de travail dernier cri, signes distinctifs de tant de recruteurs attractifs, tiennent-ils vraiment leurs promesses ? Pour le dire autrement, les choses ont-elles réellement changé depuis l’époque de la bonne vieille usine bruyante et salissante? Vue de l’extérieur, l’entreprise branchée paraît plus avenante, plus connectée et plus pimpante que les anciennes. Elle n’en reste pas moins conçue pour contraindre les corps à travailler en continu – en fusionnant temps de loisir et temps de travail, en liant physiquement les gens à leur lieu de travail.

guillemetgauche

En France, le nombre de salariés ayant recours aux drogues pour faire face au travail a augmenté de 25 % ces dix dernières années.

 

Malgré toutes les promesses de la technologie, censée nous offrir l’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et vie privée, le travail semble encore avoir des conséquences néfastes. En France, le nombre de salariés ayant recours aux drogues pour faire face au travail a augmenté de 25 % ces dix dernières années. Au Japon, l’incidence du karoshi (« la mort par surmenage ») est en constante augmentation, tandis qu’en Chine, on estime que l’équivalent local, le guolaosi, est responsable de la mort de plus d’un demi-million de personnes.

Dans la société en général comme sur le lieu de travail, un décalage semble s’être creusé entre la perception, les apparences et la réalité, le vécu du travail. Dans ce contexte, que peut-on faire ?

Réexaminer les relations personnelles

Ni les paroles creuses sur la culture d’entreprise, sur la responsabilité sociale, ni l’amélioration notable des conditions techniques et physiques de travail depuis quelques décennies ne suffisent à susciter l’engagement sincère des salariés. Nous devrions surtout recommencer à prêter attention à ce que j’appellerais les liens « charnels » qui peuvent exister dans ces milieux confinés dans lesquels nous passons une grande partie de notre vie. Nous devons renouer ces liens grâce auxquels les gens ressentent physiquement et émotionnellement ce que l’autre ressent, et mettre fin à l’indifférence mutuelle qui caractérise la vie au travail et ailleurs. Une indifférence suscitée par les médias sociaux. Ce que fait et vit l’autre au travail doit nous importer si nous voulons que le travail ne soit plus une source d’aliénation et de souffrance.

Une véritable culture de la qualité

Il ne s’agit pas d’une quelconque aspiration utopique et sans fondement. Dans certains environnements, c’est déjà une réalité. Prenez l’exemple d’un atelier dans une usine de produits chimiques dangereux, où une petite équipe travaille toute la nuit, contrôlant le bon fonctionnement des machines. Chacun y fait confiance à ses collègues et à leurs capacités à résoudre les problèmes éventuels. Dans ce genre d’environnement, des liens solides et authentiques se créent car ce sont la santé et la vie des personnes qui sont en jeu. On y trouve d’ailleurs une véritable culture du travail bien fait, qui conduit les gens à souhaiter le meilleur pour leurs collègues et à travailler dur pour faire en sorte que leur travail soit accompli selon les plus hautes normes de qualité. L’un ne va pas sans l’autre : avoir le souci de l’autre permet de développer le souci du travail bien fait, comme l’a montré Richard Sennett. Le défi pour le management consiste à trouver comment reproduire cette solidarité authentique, à l’opposé des relations superficielles devenues monnaie courante ; et à arrêter de penser que faire bouger les gens sans cesse améliore leur performance et leur engagement. Certes c’est un défi de taille, mais aucune organisation ne peut se permettre de l’ignorer.

David Courpasson, emlyon business school

Professeur de sociologie, j’étudie les nouvelles formes de résistance au travail ainsi que les dynamiques et processus de pouvoir et de domination dans les organisations. Pour moi, la recherche en sciences sociales nécessite un engagement authentique et passionné dans la compréhension de la vie des gens au travail. Comment les nouvelles organisations influencent elles la vie des gens ? Par quels mécanismes ces derniers parviennent-ils à se sortir des contraintes et contradictions dans lesquelles les plongent les nouvelles règles du travail ? Peut-on constater la création de formes de solidarités collectives productives dans les organisations actuelles ? Au service de quelle(s) visions du travail ? Les luttes sociales ont-elles encore un avenir dans les organisations « libérales » ? Voici quelques-unes des questions que je tente d’aborder dans mes travaux.

Plus d’informations sur David Courpasson :
Son CV en ligne
• Son profil ResearchGate


Pour approfondir…

  • Courpasson, D. 2016. Looking Away? Civilized Indifference and the Carnal Relationships of the Contemporary Workplace. Journal of Management Studies, Forthcoming. DOI: 10.1111/joms.12175.
    Lire le résumé

Du même auteur :

« Détourner le regard » ou l’indifférence civile sur le lieu de travail

Mai 19th, 2016|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|

David Courpasson étudie les nouvelles formes d’organisations sur le lieu de travail et leur impact sur la vie quotidienne des travailleurs. Dans cet article, il souligne la tension entre la perception qu'a chacun d’un lieu de travail moderne, source apparente d’engagement et de forte implication, et l’indifférence ordinaire croissante des individus pour le sort des autres.[...]

Résistance et organisations

Avr 7th, 2016|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|

Pourquoi la résistance persiste sur le lieu de travail, et en quoi elle peut s’avérer bénéfique pour les entreprises.

Comprendre la colère des salariés d’Air France

Déc 18th, 2015|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|

Au lendemain de la publication des photos du directeur des ressources humaines d'Air France, Xavier Broseta, agressé lors d'une manifestation début octobre, David Courpasson, Professeur de sociologie à EMLYON Business School, a publié cette tribune dans le journal Libération.

Avoir un bureau ou pas… ?

Nov 3rd, 2015|Categories: David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|Tags: , , |

Voilà un sujet qui agite beaucoup les entreprises (bien que pas toutes…), ainsi que certains « intellectuels », plus récemment. L’enjeu n’est certes pas mince, et ne se résume pas à un débat sur les bienfaits ou méfaits du nomadisme ou de la sédentarité pour la productivité au travail. [...]

Mai 19th, 2016|David Courpasson, Work & Organizations|0 Comments

Leave A Comment