“Everyone is afraid of being uberised”. The words of Maurice Levy in the Financial Times in December 2014 first brought the term uberisation to public attention. Since then this term has been used to describe a variety of phenomena, which are all linked to the upheaval in institutionalised markets caused by digital technology. In other words, uberisation has become synonymous with technological disruption.

Launched in 2009, Uber is seen as the player that turned the taxi market on its head. Uber’s idea consists of optimising unused resources, time and a vehicle, and commodifying them. Similarly, the collaborative economy (see the Terrasse and Bouvard reports) proposes to transform individuals into service providers or to share resources that are little used or unused. Uberisation is seen as inevitable, a symbol of digital changes all around us. Yet closer analysis contradicts this perception.

A matching market

The technology used by Uber is not particularly innovative. The only difference is in the scale and immediacy of digital technology. Consider what difference there is between using your thumb to control a VTC (as unofficial taxis of the Uber variety are known) on your mobile or in order to hitchhike? In fact there’s just one difference – but it’s a significant one: payment.

More precisely, it is the mercantile or non-mercantile nature of the provision which is being called into question. The change lies in the commodification of a service between non-professionals. Uber the company “merely” brings together applicants and suppliers. The Uber market is what economists call a matching market, i.e. a situation where what is exchanged is not perfectly divisible and presupposes a relationship between two parties.

Who’s afraid of Uber?

Taxi drivers have reacted strongly to Uber’s arrival in France. Their mobilisation, demonstrations and pressure on the government led to the banning of the Uberpop service which offered a VTC control application with geolocation. In general terms, the taxi sector’s rather scattershot criticisms focused not only on unfair competition – VTCs are not subject to the same rules and taxes, in particular the purchase of a professional license – but also on the mere arrival of a new form of competition which is gaining market share. That fear is spreading to other markets: hoteliers fear the development of Airbnb, advertising agencies are afraid of creative platforms, lawyers fear WeClaim or LegalStart, and publishers are up in arms about Amazon’s self-publishing service…

Founded by the self-employed entrepreneurs’ federation, the “uberisation observatory” analyses those areas that are or might be affected by uberisation. A number of sectors are concerned, from taxis to healthcare professionals and from lawyers to architects. Uberisation provokes both anxiety and debate, and feeds into both executive conversations and journalists’ articles. Yet this debate often lays out the issues and conceptual questions entailed in uberisation poorly.

A lucrative collaborative economy

Two principles coexist and must be distinguished within the collaborative economy: the non-profit, which seeks no profit for the parties in the exchange (Blabla car) and the mercantile, which seeks to maximise revenue (Uber). The non-profit collaborative economy is often driven by political concerns, and more marginal, although a few changes could make it popular, like carpooling. Conversely, the mercantile collaborative economy entails significant risks. First, the legal risk: unreported income, uncertainty about liability and insurance, and finally the disappearance of wage labour. Then there is the risk of the professionalisation of suppliers. The recent demonstrations by VTC drivers due to Uber’s lower prices resulted from the fact that many VTC drivers practise this occupation as their main activity rather than as a sideline.

A new economic model

Contrary to common supposition, with regard to both Uber and Airbnb, the disruption is not a question of technology but of the business model used. If consumers are not attracted by a collaborative solution, it does not work. It is up to the industries in question to make them more attractive than competing collaborative proposals. Similarly the existence of the low-cost model does not spell the end for traditional airlines and hard discount does not render hypermarkets obsolete.

Adequacy

The entire question lies in whether the supply is adequate for the market. If companies fail to demonstrate their usefulness and legitimacy, collaborative deals fail to achieve the success they expect. At best, they gain some market share, but remain marginal. The issue is one of market shaping. We should play an active role in the definition of market frameworks by literally doing ‘marketing’, understood as a proactive engagement in the market with a view to framing the valuation process. This involves legitimising adequacy, reorganising sectors and markets and creating value.

The technologies in question are not inherently disruptive. They become so when the actors fail to turn them to their benefit. We might for example wonder why existing taxi companies did not think earlier of creating geo-localised applications or reflecting on the user experience. Similarly, digital photography could easily have been launched by Kodak, who designed the first digital camera in 1975. Instead the company fought its development, not seeing the benefits for its business model – a strategy which led to its demise. This has not been the case with other equally well established actors in photography film.

Changes in value creation

The term uberisation masks the fact that sectoral transformation is nothing new and is not related to technology as much as to changes in value creation. This is clearly illustrated by the development of autonomous cars. The digital players are launching into it like traditional manufacturers. The question arises of who will have the legitimacy and credibility to build such cars. Traditional car manufacturers or computer and digital giants? The answer to this question will determine the sharing of value. If GAFA (Google, Apple, Facebook and Amazon) win the day, historic manufacturers will become subcontractors offering little added value. In the opposite scenario, GAFA will become providers of IT solutions. It’s not technology that will decide the outcome, but the adequacy of the legitimisation strategies of the two groups of actors.

Note that Uber’s last fundraising was valued at $60 billion. During the first six months of 2015, its revenues amounted to $663 million … The losses (in six months!) amounted to a billion dollars, against $671.6 million for the full year 2014. The uberised company has yet to prove its profitability.

As a professor, I mainly teach branding, consumer behaviour, sociology and the anthropology of consumption. As a researcher, I work on brand communities and the relationships between ethnicity and consumption, consumer resistance and shopping experiences. The goal of the Transforming Markets, Changing Lifestyles Research Centre, which I run, is to focus on four subjects: Use and experience, business infrastructures, technology and innovation, institutions and categories. The work carried out at the research centre is in line with the objectives of the Lifestyle Cluster.

More information on Lionel Sitz:
His CV online
His Viadeo page
His ResearchGate page
His Academia page

« Tout le monde craint de se faire ubériser ». Cette déclaration de Maurice Levy au Financial Times en décembre 2014 a popularisé le terme uberisation. Depuis, ce terme est utilisé pour désigner des phénomènes variés mais qui tous ont un lien avec les bouleversements apportés par le digital dans des marchés institutionnalisés. En d’autres termes, l’uberisation est devenue synonyme de disruption technologique.

Über, créé en 2009, est présenté comme l’acteur venu bouleverser le marché des taxis. L’idée d’Über consiste à optimiser des ressources inutilisées, du temps et un véhicule, et à les marchandiser. De façon similaire, l’économie collaborative (cf. les rapports Terrasse et Bouvard) propose de transformer des individus en fournisseurs de services ou de partager des ressources peu ou pas utilisées. L’uberisation est perçue comme inéluctable, un symbole des transformations digitales. Pourtant, l’analyse contredit cette perception.

Un marché de l’appariement

La technologie utilisée par Über est peu innovante. La seule différence tient à l’échelle et à l’immédiateté du numérique. À y réfléchir, quelle différence existe-t-il entre utiliser son pouce pour commander un VTC sur son portable ou lever ce doigt pour faire du stop ? Il en existe une, et de taille, le paiement. Plus précisément, c’est la nature marchande ou non marchande de la prestation qui est questionnée. La transformation est apportée par la marchandisation d’un service entre non-professionnels. La société Über ne fait « que » mettre en relation des demandeurs et des offreurs. Le marché d’Über correspond à ce que les économistes appellent un marché de l’appariement, c’est à dire des situations dans lesquelles ce qui est échangé n’est pas parfaitement divisible et suppose une relation entre deux parties.

Qui a peur d’Über ?

Les taxis ont vivement réagi à l’arrivée en France d’Über, dénonçant une concurrence déloyale. Leurs mobilisations, leurs manifestations et la pression exercée sur les pouvoirs publics ont conduit à l’interdiction du service Überpop qui proposait une application de commande de VTC offrant la géolocalisation. De manière plus générale, les taxis critiquent pêle-mêle une concurrence déloyale, – les VTC n’étant pas soumis aux mêmes règles et taxes, en particulier l’achat d’une licence professionnelle – et l’arrivée d’une nouvelle forme de concurrence qui gagne des parts de marché. Cette peur s’étend à d’autres marchés. Les hôteliers craignent le développement d’Airbnb, les agences de publicités les plateformes créatives, les avocats WeClaim ou LegalStart, les éditeurs Amazon et son service d’auto-édition …

Fondé par la Fédération des auto-entrepreneurs, l’observatoire de l’uberisation recense les secteurs qui peuvent ou pourraient être touchés par l’uberisation. Des taxis aux professionnels de la santé en passant par les avocats ou les architectes, de très nombreux secteurs sont concernés. L’uberisation inquiète, suscite le débat, alimente les conversations des dirigeants ainsi que les articles des journalistes. Pourtant, ce débat pose souvent mal les enjeux et les questionnements conceptuels qu’entraîne l’uberisation.

Economie collaborative lucrative

Il faut distinguer deux principes cohabitant au sein de l’économie collaborative : le non lucratif, ne visant pas le profit pour les parties à l’échange (Blabla car) et le marchand, visant à maximiser les revenus (Über). L’économie collaborative non-lucrative est souvent militante, plus marginale, même si certaines évolutions peuvent la rendre populaire, à l’instar du covoiturage. A l’inverse, l’économie collaborative marchande présente des risques importants. D’abord, un risque légal : revenus non déclarés, incertitude sur la responsabilité et les assurances et enfin disparition du salariat. Ensuite, le risque de professionnalisation des offreurs. Les récentes manifestations de chauffeurs de VTC suite à la baisse des tarifs d’Über résultent du fait que beaucoup de chauffeurs de VTC pratiquent cette activité comme activité principale et non plus en complément.

Nouveau modèle économique

Contrairement à ce qu’on entend un peu partout, dans le cas d’Über comme dans celui d’Airbnb, la disruption ne vient pas de la technologie mais du modèle économique. Si les consommateurs ne sont pas séduits par une solution collaborative, elle ne fonctionne pas. C’est aux secteurs concernés de se rendre plus attrayants que les propositions collaboratives concurrentes. De la même manière que le low cost dans l’aérien ne signifie pas la disparition des compagnies aériennes traditionnelles ou que le hard discount ne rend pas obsolètes les hypermarchés.

Adéquation

Toute la question réside dans l’adéquation de l’offre au marché. Si les entreprises parviennent à (dé)montrer leur utilité et leur légitimité, les offres collaboratives ne rencontrent pas le succès escompté. Au mieux, elles gagnent quelques parts de marché, mais restent marginales. La question est celle du market shaping. Il convient de participer à la définition des cadres du marché, littéralement de faire du market-ing, un engagement proactif dans le marché visant à cadrer les processus de valuation. Il s’agit de légitimer l’adéquation au marché, la réorganisation des filières et des marchés ainsi que la création de valeur.

Les technologies ne sont pas intrinsèquement disruptives. Elles le deviennent lorsque les acteurs ne parviennent pas à les intégrer à leur profit. On peut par exemple s’interroger sur le fait que les compagnies de taxis existantes n’aient pas pensé plus tôt à créer des applications géo-localisées ou à réfléchir à l’expérience utilisateur. De même, la photographie numérique aurait pu être lancée par Kodak qui conçu le premier appareil numérique dès 1975. Au contraire l’entreprise a combattu son développement, n’en voyant pas l’intérêt pour son modèle économique. Cette stratégie l’a conduite à sa disparition. Ce qui n’a pas été le cas d’autres acteurs de la photographie argentique aussi bien implantés.

Mutations de la création de valeur

L’expression uberisation masque le fait que les transformations de filières ne sont pas nouvelles et ne découlent pas des technologies mais de mutations dans la création de valeur. L’essor de voitures autonomes illustre cette réalité. Les acteurs du numérique s’y lancent comme les constructeurs traditionnels. La question se pose de savoir qui sera légitime et crédible pour construire de telles voitures. Les constructeurs traditionnels de voitures ou les géants de l’informatique et du numérique ? De la réponse à cette question découlera le partage de la valeur. Si ce sont les GAFA, les constructeurs historiques seront des sous-traitants captant peu de valeur ajoutée. Dans le cas contraire, les GAFA seront des fournisseurs de solutions informatiques. Ce n’est pas la technologie qui décidera de l’issue mais l’adéquation des stratégies de légitimation des deux groupes d’acteurs.

Rappelons que la dernière levée de fonds d’Über l’a valorisé à 60 milliards de dollars. Au cours des six premiers mois de 2015, son chiffre d’affaires net est de 663 millions de dollars… Les pertes (sur six mois !) s’élèvent à un milliard de dollars, contre 671,6 millions pour toute l’année 2014. L’entreprise qui ubérise n’a pas encore fait la preuve de sa rentabilité.

Lionel Sitz, emlyon business school

En tant que professeur j’enseigne principalement le branding, le comportement du consommateur, la sociologie et l’anthropologie de la consommation. En tant que chercheur, je travaille sur les communautés de marque, les relations entre ethnicité et consommation, la résistance des consommateurs et les expériences de magasinage.

Le centre de recherche Transforming markets, changing lifestyles, que je pilote, a pour objectif de contribuer à la compréhension des relations entre marchés et modes de vie, et se focalise sur quatre sujets : les usages et les expériences ; les infrastructures business ; les technologies et les innovations ; et les institutions et les catégories. Les travaux effectués au sein du centre de recherche s’associent aux objectifs du Cluster Lifestyle.

Plus d’informations sur Lionel Sitz :
Son CV en ligne
Son profil Viadeo
Son profil ResearchGate
Son profil Academia


Sur le même thème…