Part of the economic thinking on research and development (R&D) aims to identify the factors on which companies base their choices for the organization of innovation activities, and to understand their impacts on various dimensions. These include the amount of investments made, the profits they generate for the industry, as well as a measurement of consumer or user satisfaction.  The results of this thinking can namely help to shed light on the action of competition authorities and other regulatory bodies that promote the emergence of more favorable practices for society.

The case of the pharmaceutical industry

The stakes of organizing research and development operations are particularly high in the pharmaceutical industry. For technological reasons, the discovery of new medicines or vaccines comes with a great risk of failure and requires a heavy financial commitment for long periods of time. The drop in productivity of R&D investments, observed over the past several decades, has encouraged companies in this sector to explore new approaches.

For example, a growing share of the expenditure required to develop new products is subcontracted out by the major pharmaceutical groups to specialized companies that have complementary scientific expertise. One historic example of this is the launch of the first synthetic human insulin thanks to a partnership between pharmaceutical company Eli Lilly and one of the very first startups in the genetic engineering sphere, Genentech.

In other circumstances, competing companies choose to cooperate on research and development. One recent example is the announcement by AstraZeneca and Sanofi that they will share over 200,000 compounds from their respective compound libraries in order to speed up the discovery of new medicines. In general, such cooperation helps to avoid duplicating budgets and to pool knowledge. Applied microeconomic models have also shown that inter-firm cooperation in R&D, as opposed to competition, can result in more investment.

Cooperation between companies can also relate to the diffusion of intellectual property rights. In the case of a set of technologies all required to engineer a new process or product, a set of patents, each held by a different company can be sold together in the form of a ‘patent pool’. By setting up a one-stop shop where a single license for all of the technologies in the ‘pool’ can be obtained, this type of arrangement reduces the risks of legal disputes and lowers transaction costs. As well, economic analysis shows that this process can remedy the problem of multiple margins by coordinating a decrease in license fees, in the interest of all parties, consumers and patients in particular. There have been several agreements of this type, which pharmaceutical companies and public research organizations in the life sciences contribute to. The Medicines Patent Pool (MPP), founded in 2009 by UNITAID, brings together intellectual property for treatments against HIV, hepatitis C and tuberculosis. The Pool for Open Innovation Against Neglected Tropical Diseases (POINT), initiated the same year by GlaxoSmithKline, in 2011 became a stakeholder of WIPO Re:Search, created by the World Intellectual Property Organization (a United Nations agency), which focuses on diagnosing, preventing and treating communicable diseases that impact the world’s poorest regions.

R&D incentives, rare diseases and low-income populations

Financing a costly, risky R&D program poses a problem when, in the best-case scenario where a new product is indeed developed, the anticipated revenue is particularly limited and/or uncertain. This is the kind of funding constraint that companies must face when investing to find means to treat or prevent diseases that are rare or affect populations located in low-income areas.

Various mechanisms have been designed to increase the incentives to invest in this type of situation. For example, for rare diseases, European and American regulatory agencies, which grant marketing approval for medicines, have implemented special procedures and extended exclusivity periods for companies that bring new solutions. In the case of vaccines, governments and philanthropic institutions help to fund immunization programs in countries with low per capita income.

Economic analysis is particularly well suited to thinking about the relevancy of such programs and about the development of new approaches. It helps to build a comparison of various incentive scenarios in order to identify those that best increase the chances of obtaining good results.

Ebola, Zika, …

We are painfully reminded of the importance of investments in research and development, and the incentives that orient them for the development of diagnostic tools, new vaccines and new therapies, in the crisis situations sparked by the emergence or sudden spread of virulent pathogens such as SARS in 2003, H5N1 in 2005, H1N1 in 2009, Ebola a couple of years ago, and Zika today.

These global scale emergency situations can result in the setup of incentive programs and new collaboration that involves industrial firms, scientific organizations, regulatory agencies and public or private funding providers to speed up the development and distribution of solutions.

In particular, the Ebola crisis led the World Health Organization (WHO) to design a blueprint that aims to guide the research and development efforts of public and private players in the event of new health emergencies triggered by new epidemics. An emergency assessment procedure has been set up in order to enable use of experimental products more quickly than in the standard regulatory framework. This approach is already being used in the fight against the Zika virus, notably for the development of diagnostic products and for reliable detection of the virus and of the complications it can possibly cause (congenital birth defects and neurological disorders). Also, the biggest companies in the sector, including Sanofi Pasteur in Lyon, very quickly joined the “race” to develop a vaccine.

Yet the technological hurdles, together with the clinical phases required to assess efficacy and safety of candidate products, can require considerable investment over several years. Will manufacturers, regulatory bodies and funding providers perhaps consider new approaches to speed up the research and development process?

I am a professor and researcher in industrial economics at emlyon business school, as well as a member of the GATE research unit (CNRS, unit #5824). My work mainly focuses on companies’ investment decisions on innovation, and the way they choose to organize their R&D (sub-contracting, cooperation, competition, etc.) in relation to the regulatory environment.

More information on Bruno Versaevel:
His CV online
His ResearchGate page

Une partie de la réflexion économique sur la recherche et développement (R&D) a pour objectif d’identifier les facteurs de choix, par les entreprises, des modes d’organisation de leurs activités d’innovation, et d’en comprendre les impacts sur différentes dimensions. Celles-ci comprennent le montant des investissements engagés, les profits qu’ils génèrent pour l’industrie, ainsi qu’une mesure de la satisfaction des consommateurs ou utilisateurs. Les résultats de cette réflexion peuvent notamment contribuer à éclairer l’action des autorités de concurrence, ou d’autres institutions de régulation, qui visent à l’émergence des pratiques les plus favorables pour la société.

Le cas de l’industrie pharmaceutique

Les enjeux de l’organisation des opérations de recherche et développement sont particulièrement importants dans l’industrie pharmaceutique. Pour des raisons technologiques, la découverte de nouveaux médicaments ou vaccins est caractérisée par un risque d’échec élevé et exige des engagements financiers importants sur de longues durées. La baisse de la productivité des investissements en R&D, constatée sur plusieurs décennies, a incité les entreprises de ce secteur à explorer de nouvelles approches.

Par exemple, une part croissante des dépenses nécessaires à la mise au point de nouveaux produits est sous-traitée par les grands groupes pharmaceutiques auprès de sociétés spécialisées dont l’expertise scientifique leur est complémentaire. Un exemple historique est celui de la mise sur le marché de la première insuline humaine de synthèse grâce au partenariat conclu entre l’entreprise pharmaceutique Eli Lilly et l’une des toutes premières start-up dans le domaine du génie génétique, Genentech.

Dans d’autres circonstances, des entreprises concurrentes choisissent de coopérer en recherche et développement. Un exemple récent est l’annonce par AstraZeneca et Sanofi du partage de plus de 200,000 molécules issues de leurs chimiothèques respectives, afin d’accélérer la découverte de nouveaux médicaments. En général, une telle coopération permet d’éviter la duplication des budgets et de mutualiser les connaissances. Des modèles en micro-économie appliquée ont aussi montré que la coopération en R&D peut aboutir à davantage d’investissements que la concurrence.

La coopération entre entreprises peut aussi porter sur la diffusion de la propriété intellectuelle. Dans le cas d’un ensemble de technologies toutes nécessaires à la production d’un nouveau produit, il est possible de commercialiser en commun un « panier de brevets » détenus par plusieurs entreprises (un patent pool). En établissant un guichet unique pour l’obtention d’une seule licence pour l’ensemble des technologies du « panier », ce type de dispositif diminue les risques de conflits juridiques et les coûts de transaction. Aussi, l’analyse économique montre que cette démarche peut corriger le problème des marges multiples par la coordination à la baisse des tarifs de licence, dans l’intérêt de toutes les parties, et en particulier des consommateurs ou patients. Plusieurs accords de ce type ont vu le jour auxquels contribuent des entreprises de l’industrie pharmaceutique et des organismes de recherche publics engagés dans les sciences de la vie. Le Medicines Patent Pool (MPP), fondé en 2009 par UNITAID, regroupe de la propriété intellectuelle relative à des thérapies contre le HIV, l’hépatite C, et la tuberculose. Le Pool for Open Innovation against Neglected Tropical diseases (POINT), initié la même année par GlaxoSmithKline, est devenu en 2011 partie prenante de WIPO Re:Search, créé par la World Intellectual Property Organization (une des agences des Nations Unies), qui se focalise sur le traitement, la prévention et le diagnostic des maladies transmissibles qui frappent les régions les plus pauvres.

Incitations en R&D, maladies rares, et populations à faibles revenus 

Le financement d’un programme de R&D coûteux et risqué pose problème lorsque, dans le cas le plus favorable où un nouveau produit est effectivement développé, le chiffre d’affaires anticipé est particulièrement limité et/ou incertain. C’est à cette contrainte de financement que font face les entreprises qui investissent pour aboutir au traitement ou à la prévention de maladies rares ou qui touchent des populations situées dans des territoires à faibles revenus.

Divers dispositifs ont été conçus pour augmenter les incitations à investir dans ce type de situations. Par exemple, dans le cas des maladies rares, les agences européennes et américaines de régulation, qui autorisent la mise sur le marché des médicaments, prévoient des procédures d’homologation aménagées et des périodes d’exclusivité renforcées pour les entreprises qui apportent de nouvelles solutions. Dans le cas des vaccins, des gouvernements et des institutions philanthropiques contribuent au financement des programmes d’immunisation des pays à faible revenu par habitant.

L’approche économique est particulièrement adaptée à la réflexion sur la pertinence de tels dispositifs et sur l’élaboration de nouvelles démarches. Elle contribue à structurer la comparaison de différents scénarios incitatifs pour identifier ceux qui augmentent le plus les chances d’aboutir à des résultats.

Ebola, Zika, …

L’importance des investissements en recherche et développement, et des incitations qui les orientent, pour la mise au point d’outils de diagnostic, de nouveaux vaccins, et de nouvelles thérapies, nous est rappelée douloureusement dans les situations de crise provoquées par l’émergence ou la diffusion soudaine de pathogènes virulents: le SRAS en 2003, les virus H5N1 en 2005, H1N1 en 2009, plus récemment Ebola, et aujourd’hui Zika.

Ces situations d’urgence de portée mondiale peuvent provoquer la mise en œuvre de démarches incitatives et collaboratives nouvelles, impliquant à la fois les industriels, les organismes scientifiques, les institutions de régulation, comme les financeurs publics ou privés, pour accélérer la mise au point et la diffusion de solutions.

En particulier la crise provoquée par Ebola a amené l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS) à concevoir un plan-cadre qui vise à orienter et coordonner les efforts de recherche et développement des acteurs publics et privés en cas d’urgences sanitaires provoquées par de nouvelles épidémies. Une procédure d’évaluation d’urgence a été mise en place afin de permettre l’utilisation des produits expérimentaux plus rapidement que dans le cadre réglementaire habituel. Ce dispositif est déjà à l’œuvre dans la lutte contre le virus Zika, notamment pour la mise au point de produits de diagnostic, pour la détection fiable du virus et des complications qu’il pourrait induire (malformations congénitales et troubles neurologiques). Aussi les plus grandes entreprises du secteur, dont Sanofi Pasteur à Lyon, se sont engagées très rapidement dans la « course » pour la mise au point d’un vaccin.

Mais les obstacles technologiques, comme les étapes cliniques nécessaires à la validation d’un produit dont l’efficacité et la sécurité sont démontrées, peuvent exiger des investissements considérables sur plusieurs années. Peut-être de nouvelles approches seront-elles envisagées, par les industriels, les régulateurs, et les apporteurs de capitaux, pour accélérer le processus de recherche et développement ?

Bruno Versaevel, emlyon business school

Je suis professeur et chercheur en économie industrielle à emlyon business school, et membre du GATE (unité CNRS #5824). Mes travaux portent notamment sur les décisions d’investissement en innovation par les entreprises, et sur leurs choix de mode d’organisation de la recherche et développement (sous-traitance, coopération, concurrence, …), en relation avec l’environnement réglementaire.

Plus d’informations sur Bruno Versaevel :
Son CV en ligne
Son profil ResearchGate