­
  • Timeflow, Joonas Rokka

Why consumers’ temporal experiences are key

The question of ‘timeflow’, or the pace of the customer experience, has long impacted consumers’ perceptions of products and has been capitalised on by companies and researchers to improve their services. Yet despite this, little is currently know about just how this such experience is shaped, what factors moderate and influence it, and how temporal experience may function as the key to successful marketing.
Joonas Rokka sets out to explore these issues which can have such a vital impact on the success of a business, and can so strongly inform market research. We know that consumers may lie happily on the beach for hours despite (or perhaps because of) the uneventfulness of the activity, but be impatient and frustrated after mere minutes of waiting in line. So what, exactly, dictates a successful temporal experience?

Could companies be doing better?

Companies’ failure to properly optimise ‘timeflow’ is impacting their services. Because these temporal experiences are intensively felt by the customer, designing a timeflow which is too fast or too slow is likely to negatively impact enjoyment and could even lead to the permanent loss of a customer. If an experience rushes past, consumers can feel frustrated and stressed, yet a lag can lead to boredom. This will affect the quality, attractiveness and distinctiveness of the customer’s enjoyment as a whole.

In order for companies to be successful in this area, they must envision the customer’s holistic timeflow, or likely string of events, in advance, and tailor it to enhance enjoyment. Another aspect that they must be aware of in order to maximise the success of their product or offering is the potential for disruption, and businesses must work to be equipped against these instances. The easiest way to achieve this is by examining where a positive temporal experience might break down, and integrating responses for these situations such as an efficient queueing system.

Why extreme sport is a good example

We used extreme sport as our focus, as due to its high intensity, participants were far more likely to easily recount the smallest details of their experience. We found that all consumers seek an optimal timeflow where certain consumption practice elements align. In freeskiing, for instance, a ski jump trick will require not only the appropriate bodily skills and expertise, but also optimal skiing equipment, weather conditions and an understanding of what a good jump looks like. Unsurprisingly, however, instances such as this are rare, and it is more likely that the consumer will be subjected to a timeflow which is either too fast or to slow.

It is important to remember that these experiences can differ dramatically between individuals. Because freeskiing exhibits a very specific temporal flow, episodes can both flash by in an instant or even stand almost still at the most intense of moments. Yet a worker supervising the safe operations of the snow park in which the freeskiers train will experience temporality very differently, since it has most probably become part of a boring, repetitive routine.

Why we could all learn from fast food outlets

An interesting example of timeflow being incorporated well into the customer experience could be the growth of ‘slow food’, like New York’s popular Craft restaurant, and ‘fast food’, such as the hugely successful McDonald’s. Both of these experiences have been designed entirely around the temporal concept – not only the duration of the meal but the food itself (think how fast food rarely even requires cutlery). In the case of McDonalds’s, for example, care has been taken to shorten the customer experience as much as possible to suit the consumers’ temporal needs – even down to details such as a ‘drive through’ to eliminate the need to leave the car.

Where else is this applicable?

This implications of this theory are broad and can be applied to a number of industries where temporal experience is important – think motor, gaming, entertainment, tourism, etc. As well as this, timeflows can be managed to make market offerings or retail spaces more attractive and accessible. It is surely an issue that companies must consider if they want to stay ahead of the curve and win custom.

Joonas Rokka, emlyon business school

Consumer researcher by training, I am a Finnish associate professor of marketing specialised in studying consumer experiences and culture and how they are mediated, impacted, and shaped through digital media. In my research I put emphasis on and develop creative audiovisual methods including videography in order to address the complexity of experience including temporality, space, movement, embodiment, affect, and materiality. I was the recipient of The Sidney J. Levy Award (2015) for my dissertation research. I have professional experience in marketing and business development in a leading Finnish FMCG company, Valio Ltd. and running my own company specialised in management training and consulting around the issue of customer experience.

More information on Joonas Rokka:
His CV online
His ResearchGate page
His Academia page


Further reading…

  • Woermann, N., Rokka, J. 2015. Timeflow: How Consumption Practices Shape Consumers’ Temporal Experience. Journal of Consumer Research, 41(6), 1486-1508. DOI: 10.1086/680668.
    Read article online

By the same author:

How 4 ‘myths’ made champagne a global marketplace icon

Dec 9th, 2016|Categories: Joonas Rokka, Lifestyle & Consumption|

What makes a simple wine, grown in a rather mediocre wine-growing region, one of the most famous and magical icons of today? How did champagne establish such a unique position, against all the odds, and become the global symbol of celebration?

Why consumers’ temporal experiences are key

May 25th, 2016|Categories: Joonas Rokka, Lifestyle & Consumption|

The question of ‘timeflow’, or the pace of the customer experience, has long impacted consumers’ perceptions of products and has been capitalised on by companies and researchers to improve their services. [...]

May 25th, 2016|Joonas Rokka, Lifestyle & Consumption|0 Comments

Leave A Comment

­

Pourquoi le flux temporel est-il une notion clé du marketing client ?

La question du « flux temporel », ou du rythme de l’expérience client, influence depuis longtemps la perception qu’ont les consommateurs des produits. C’est un fait connu dont les entreprises ont cherché à tirer parti pour améliorer leurs prestations. Mais on ne connaît finalement que peu de choses sur la manière dont cette expérience se construit, sur les facteurs qui l’influencent ou l’atténuent, alors que l’expérience temporelle pourrait se révéler la clé d’un marketing réussi.
Dans ses travaux, Joonas Rokka explore ces questions qui peuvent avoir un impact vital sur la réussite d’une entreprise et s’avérer une source précieuse d’informations pour les études de marché. Nous savons que le comportement des consommateurs n’est pas linéaire. Ils peuvent passer des heures allongés sur la plage en dépit (ou peut-être à cause) du caractère nonchalant de cette activité, mais faire preuve d’impatience et de frustration après seulement quelques minutes dans une file d’attente. Alors de quoi, au juste, dépend une expérience temporelle réussie ?

Comment aider les entreprises à améliorer l’expérience temporelle du client ?

L’incapacité des entreprises à optimiser le « flux temporel » (ou passage du temps) affecte leurs prestations. Ces expériences temporelles sont ressenties de manière intense par le client. Par conséquent, concevoir un flux temporel trop rapide ou trop lent risque d’avoir un impact négatif sur la satisfaction du client, voire d’entraîner son départ. Si une expérience passe à toute vitesse, le consommateur peut se sentir frustré et stressé, tandis qu’une sensation de trop grande lenteur le mènera à l’ennui. Dans un sens comme dans l’autre, ce décalage altère la qualité, l’attrait et le caractère unique de la satisfaction client.

Pour que les entreprises voient leurs efforts couronnés de succès, elles doivent envisager à l’avance le flux temporel holistique du client, c’est à dire la série d’événements probable, pour l’adapter de sorte à en rendre l’expérience plus agréable et satisfaisante. Afin d’optimiser le succès de leur produit ou de leur offre, les entreprises doivent prendre en compte les perturbations potentielles et s’y préparer. La manière la plus simple d’y parvenir consiste à examiner le point potentiel de rupture d’une expérience temporelle positive et à y trouver des parades, comme par exemple un système de file d’attente plus efficace.

Pourquoi avoir choisi le cas du sport extrême pour ce travail de recherche ?

Nous avons choisi de nous concentrer sur le sport extrême pour sa forte intensité. Les participants à notre étude étaient bien plus susceptibles de se souvenir facilement des moindres détails de leur expérience. Nous avons constaté que tous les consommateurs recherchent un flux temporel optimal dans lequel certains éléments de leur pratique de consommation se rejoignent. En ski freestyle, par exemple, une figure acrobatique réussie est l’alliance d’aptitudes physiques et d’un entrainement adaptés, mais aussi d’un matériel de ski performant et de conditions météo idéales. Comme on peut s’y attendre, de tels cas sont rares. Le plus souvent, le consommateur se retrouve soumis à un flux temporel trop rapide ou trop lent.
Il est important de garder à l’esprit que ces expériences peuvent varier considérablement d’une personne à une autre. Le flux temporel du ski freestyle est très spécifique. Les séquences peuvent défiler en un éclair ou donner l’impression d’être à l’arrêt dans les moments les plus intenses. De son côté, l’employé supervisant le bon fonctionnement du snowpark où s’entraînent les skieurs aura une expérience très différente de la temporalité, puisqu’elle fait très probablement partie d’une routine ennuyeuse et répétitive.

Qu’avons-nous à apprendre des établissements de restauration rapide ?

Des exemple intéressants d’une bonne intégration du flux temporel à l’expérience client pourraient venir de la croissance de la « restauration lente », mise en valeur par la popularité du restaurant Craft à New York, et de la « restauration rapide », illustrée par l’immense succès de McDonald’s. Ces deux expériences ont été pensées et élaborées entièrement autour du concept temporel, du point de vue tant de la durée du repas que de la nourriture elle-même (par exemple, la rareté voire l’absence de couverts dans la restauration rapide). Dans le cas de McDonald’s, on a veillé à raccourcir au maximum l’expérience client pour répondre aux besoins temporels des consommateurs – et cela, jusque dans les moindres détails, notamment avec les « drive-in » grâce auxquels les clients n’ont même plus besoin de quitter leur voiture.

Quels sont les autres domaines possibles d’application ?

Les implications de cette théorie sont extrêmement vastes. Elle peut s’appliquer à bon nombre d’industries pour lesquelles l’expérience temporelle est importante – notamment le secteur automobile, l’industrie du jeu, du divertissement ou encore du tourisme. De manière générale, les flux temporels peuvent être construits de manière à rendre l’offre et les espaces de vente plus attrayants et plus accessibles. C’est une approche dont les entreprises doivent tenir compte si elles souhaitent garder une longueur d’avance et accroître leur clientèle.

Joonas Rokka, emlyon business school

Professeur associé en marketing, j’enseigne la stratégie de marque, les marchés de consommation et les modes de vie des consommateurs, l’expérience de service et la communication, en abordant notamment le Web marketing et des médias sociaux. Mes travaux de recherche portent également sur la stratégie de marque mais aussi sur l’expérience et la culture des consommateurs, les médias numériques et les méthodes de recherche visuelles créatives. Dans ce cadre, j’expérimente des méthodes audiovisuelles innovantes comme la vidéographie permettant de donner à voir la complexité des expériences menées : temporalité, espace, mouvement, etc.

Plus d’informations sur Joonas Rokka :
Son CV en ligne
Son profil ResearchGate
Son profil Academia


Pour approfondir…


Du même auteur :

Champagne : les quatre « mythes » fondateurs d’une icône mondiale

Déc 21st, 2016|Categories: Joonas Rokka, Lifestyle & Consumption|

Qu’est-ce qui a fait d’un simple vin, cultivé dans une région viticole plutôt médiocre, l’une des icônes les plus célèbres et les plus féériques d’aujourd’hui ? Comment le champagne a-t-il, contre toute attente, atteint un tel prestige pour devenir le symbole festif par excellence dans le monde entier ?

Pourquoi le flux temporel est-il une notion clé du marketing client ?

Mai 25th, 2016|Categories: Joonas Rokka, Lifestyle & Consumption|

La question du "flux temporel", ou du rythme de l’expérience client, influence depuis longtemps la perception qu’ont les consommateurs des produits. C’est un fait connu dont les entreprises ont cherché à tirer parti pour améliorer leurs prestations.[...]

Mai 25th, 2016|Joonas Rokka, Lifestyle & Consumption|0 Comments

Leave A Comment